The Society :: About us

For research and publication on the life and work of Ernst Toller


In the 20s of the last century, Ernst Toller was the most well-known of all the living German dramatists. By his 100th birthday on 1 December 1993, however, his works were almost completely out of print.

With the creation of the Ernst Toller Society, the city of Neuburg-an-der-Donau intends to reverse this decline in interest. Our set goal is to publish the complete works of Ernst Toller over the next few years.

Research conditions in Germany for such a project are now fundamentally improved. The unique collection of John Spalek, which is certainly the largest of all Ernst Toller collections, has been transferred from New York to Neuburg-an-der-Donau and is now the property of the Ernst Toller Society. This collection contains many valuable items, including, for example, a presentation copy from Toller to Albert Einstein.

The Stadtarchiv (Municipal Archives) and the Staatlichen Bibliothek (State Library) in Neuburg-an-der-Donau provide optimum preconditions for efficient research. These facilities are bound to generate new research activity on the work of Ernst Toller.

Furthermore, we intend to update John Spalek's extensive Toller bibliography, first published in 1968, and make it available on the World Wide Web for research purposes.This unique project represents a milestone in Ernst Toller research.

Moreover, a literature prize has been established which is normally awarded every two years for exceptional literary achievement in the area of intersection between literature and politics. Toller, after all, was one of the few examples among German writers to combine the political activist and the engaged writer. In this ongoing tradition, political poetry, drama and essay writing, and particularly the political speech of high literary merit, are all in urgent need of support. In addition, the Society issues a series of publications (Schriften der Ernst-Toller-Gesellschaft - Publications of the Ernst Toller Society) in which the latest research concerning Ernst Toller and his times is published. The selection of material also includes Toller's wide circle of colleagues, for example Erich Mühsam, Gustav Landauer, Max Weber and others.

Neuburg-an-der-Donau is taking responsibility for Ernst Toller in this way because he created his most important works during his imprisonment here, particularly in nearby Niederschönenfeld. Besides, because Ernst Toller's birthplace is now situated in present-day Poland, it is understandable not to expect his legacy as a German writer to be maintained there.

The Ernst Toller Society is determined to ensure that the work of Ernst Toller once again receives the attention it deserves. In order to do so, we welcome members who can assist the work and plans of the Society with commitment and/or financial support. At the same time, the city of Neuburg-an-der-Donau welcomes bequests or donations of any kind.

Translated by Alan Pearlman (Eliot College, University of Kent, Canterbury, UK), who is the authorised translator of a new English edition of Ernst Toller's plays now being published by Oberon Books. E-mail:


  Impress    Print    © Ernst-Toller-Society      

Kontakt Preisträger Partner Ernst Toller Gesellschaft Begrüßung :Spanisch (Espanol) :Französisch (Francaise) :Englisch (English) :Deutsch (German)

Die Gesellschaft :: Wir über uns

Leben und Werk von Ernst Toller soll erforscht und ediert werden

 

Ernst Toller war in den zwanziger Jahren unseres Jahrhunderts der bekannteste lebende Dramatiker deutscher Sprache. Zu seinem 100. Geburtstag am 1. Dezember 1993 waren seine Werke jedoch so gut wie vollständig aus dem Buchhandel verschwunden.

Mit der Gründung einer Ernst-Toller-Gesellschaft will die Stadt Neuburg an der Donau diesem Desinteresse entgegenwirken. Erklärtes Ziel ist es, in den nächsten Jahren das Gesamtwerk Ernst Tollers zu edieren.

Die Forschungsbedingungen in Deutschland werden dafür grundlegend verbessert. Die einzigartige Sammlung von John Spalek, die sicher die größte Ernst-Toller-Sammlung ist, wurde von New York nach Neuburg an der Donau verlegt und ging in das Eigentum der Ernst-Toller-Gesellschaft über. Zu der Sammlung gehören wertvolle Bestände, wie beispielsweise ein Widmungsexemplar Tollers an Albert Einstein.

Mit dem Stadtarchiv und der Staatlichen Bibliothek in Neuburg an der Donau sind optimale Voraussetzungen für eine effiziente Forschung geschaffen. Dadurch kann und soll die weitere Beschäftigung mit dem Werk Ernst Tollers angeregt werden.

Weiter ist beabsichtigt, die umfangreiche Bibliographie von John Spalek aus dem Jahre 1968 zu aktualisieren und sie über das Internet weltweit für Forschungszwecke zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die Einzigartigkeit dieses Projekts stellt einen Meilenstein in der Ernst-Toller-Forschung dar.

Darüberhinaus wurde ein Literaturpreis geschaffen, der alle zwei Jahre verliehen wird und zwar für besondere literarische Leistungen im Grenzbereich von Literatur und Politik. Schließlich war Ernst Toller eines der wenigen Beispiele in Deutschland für das Zusammentreffen von aktivem Politiker und engagiertem Schriftsteller. In dieser Tradition stehende politische Lyrik, Dramatik, Epik, Essayistik, aber auch die politische Rede von hohem literarischem Wert bräuchte dringend Förderung. Außerdem gibt die Gesellschaft eine Schriftenreihe (Schriften der Ernst-Toller-Gesellschaft) heraus, in der neueste Forschungsergebnisse veröffentlicht werden, die mit Ernst Toller und seiner Zeit verknüpft sind. Die Sammlungstätigkeit soll sich darüber hinaus auch auf den Umkreis von Toller, beispielsweise Erich Mühsam, Gustav Landauer, Max Weber und andere erstrecken.

Neuburg an der Donau nimmt sich Ernst Tollers an, weil er hier während seiner Haftzeit, vor allem aber im nahegelegenen Niederschönenfeld, seine wichtigsten Werke schuf. Da außerdem Ernst Tollers Geburtsort im heutigen Polen liegt, ist verständlicherweise nicht damit zu rechnen, daß dort sein Erbe als deutscher Schriftsteller gepflegt werden kann.

Die Gesellschaft will erreichen, daß dem Werk Ernst Tollers wieder die Beachtung zukommt, die es verdient. Dazu benötigt sie Mitglieder, die die Arbeit und Pläne der Gesellschaft ideell und finanziell unterstützen. Gleichzeitig ist man in Neuburg an der Donau an Nachlässen oder Donationen jeder Art interessiert.

     

  Impressum    Seite drucken    © Ernst-Toller-Gesellschaft      


Kontakt Preisträger Partner Ernst Toller Gesellschaft Begrüßung :Spanisch (Espanol) :Französisch (Francaise) :Englisch (English) :Deutsch (German)